Back to homepage
Industry News

Winners Announced at the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards

Mon 19th Feb 2024

The winners of the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards were announced last night in a ceremony hosted by David Tennant at The Royal Festival Hall in London, with three wildly differing films making most of the headlines and showing off the diverse brilliance of the UK film industry.

Oppenheimer won seven BAFTAs: Best Film; Director for Christopher Nolan; Leading Actor for Cillian Murphy; Supporting Actor for Robert Downey Jr.; Cinematography; Editing, and Original Score.

Just behind, Yorgos Lanthimos’ uniquely twisted Alasdair Gray adaptation Poor Things won five Awards (Leading Actress for Emma Stone; Costume, Make Up & Hair, Production Design and Special Visual Effects), while Jonathan Glazer’s uniquely haunting Auschwitz drama The Zone of Interest won three (Outstanding British Film, Film Not in the English Language, and Sound).

A person holding an award

Description automatically generated

We’re delighted for the teams behind these films, and especially for the PGGB Members who worked on two of them: Kasia Malipan (Co Producer), Nikki Chamberlin (Financial Controller), Sairh Sheikh (Production Accountant UK) and Matthew Moss (Production Coordinator) on Poor Things, and Jon Miller, Financial Controller on The Zone of Interest.

Huge congratulations to these members. These incredible productions would not happen year on year if it were not for the wonderful below the line talent we have here in the UK, and the BAFTAs provide us with a perfect moment to celebrate them, as well as the talent on the red carpet at Royal Festival Hall.